Bring Back the Crooners

As much as I try to keep up with the youngsters, I’m afraid I will never ‘get into’ rap music. I’m at the age where the waist line of my pants will soon be just below the center of my chest. It’s too late for my crouch to fall between my knees.

In the first place, I don’t consider rap and music to be two words that belong side by side. Rap is rhythmic noise. Music is rhythmic melodious sounds.

I grew up to the music of Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, Perry Como, Vic Damone, Steve Lawrence, Johnny Mathis, Robert Goulet, Sammy Davis, Jr., Mel Torme, and many other male singers who made it extremely easy to ask that beautiful girl to dance.

Dinah Shore, Doris Day, Teresa Brewer, Brenda Lee, Peggy Lee, Dusty Springfield, and countless other female vocalists had the same effect on young lovers.

Perhaps I’m missing something, but I don’t see how the music of today’s youngsters can produce the same feelings.

Although my step-son, Steve Slovisky, is a member of a band called Injected, I still fail to see how romance can result from the sounds of songs like “Faithless”.

I tried to embed the video here, but was unable. So, if you want to see Lu’s baby boy doing his thing, go to this web site.

Steve is the base guitar player. The one with the long blond hair.

Obviously Injected’s music is not Rap. But it’s still not the kind of music one would want to slow dance to. I believe it was Redd Foxx who described slow dancing as trying to get from the front of the girl to the back of the girl without going around.

In truth, for many of us, that was as close as we ever got to premarital sex. And that was fine. There were a lot fewer babies born out of wedlock.

Let’s bring the crooners back along with slow dancing. It might be easier to start a “Just say NO” campaign if there was a more acceptable form of body contact.

I hope you enjoyed this stroll (not rap prounce) down Memory Lane.

6 Responses to Bring Back the Crooners

  1. Gabe Cocchiola says:

    would like to see one by Vic Damone

  2. Jim says:

    I’m sure there is at least one Vic Damone song on Youtube. I’ll see what I can find.

  3. jimsjourney says:

    Here are a couple of Vic Damone songs:

    Hope this gets back to Gabe!

    Jim

  4. Gabe Cocchiola says:

    Thanks…I really enjoyed this! I can’t find much by Vic. He’s got the best voice….and effortless. Loved all of them, Jim. Thanks a million…Gabe

  5. Thanks Jim…..I really enjoyed…..this is a keeper
    much appreciated, Gabe

  6. Very good article Jim.
    Right on!

Leave a Reply

