Pretend No More – Hawaii it is!

This is not Puerto Rico

This is not Puerto Rico

The other day I had to use a picture of Puerto Rico because I couldn’t find our pictures of Hawaii. Well, as all husbands should know, if you ask the bride, nine times out of ten she’ll know where whatever it is you’re looking for can be found… even if it’s exactly where you left it.

As I went through the photos to pick some to use, I was reminded of how the trip came about.

Lu’s sister and brother-in-law thought it would be a good idea for us to take a vacation together. We all agreed to look into going to Hawaii. Lu and I had the advantage of knowing Jim and Kathy Voerg, the owners of the Uniglobe Love to Travel agency in Cumming, Georgia.

Jim and Kathy did a marvelous job of creating our itinerary. We spent a few days in Honolulu – enough to see the Arizona monument, the Polynesian Cultural Center, and a few other tourist sites on Oahu. Then we flew to Kauai where we stayed at a beautiful ground level condo.

A perfect place to sit and watch the world go by

A perfect place to sit and watch the world go by

From where I was standing to take this photo, I could turn around and take the next picture.

The ocean was a very short stroll from our door

The ocean was a very short stroll from our door

After a week of vegetating on Kauai, we flew to Maui for our last five days on the islands.

I should point out that we did a few things on Kauai besides sitting in the hot tub, pool, beach, and our veranda. We also took a helicopter tour of the island – Lu loved it, I kissed the ground upon our return – and a boat (they called it a yacht) ride.

Every day is beautiful in Hawaii

Every day is beautiful in Hawaii

On Maui, we took another boat ride to an area where we were able to snorkel among sea turtles and other sea creatures.

One of the highlights was attending the Old Lahaina Luau. Unbeknownst to us, tickets to that particular luau are very hard to come by unless you buy them far in advance of your trip. When I called to get them, I was put on a waiting list. An hour before the start of the dinner and show, we got the call. Tickets were available and we could go!

The dancing was just as good as the food

The dancing was just as good as the food

I don’t recall what it cost to spend two weeks in paradise. I do know that before we left Georgia, we considered the trip to be a ‘once in a lifetime’ event. Ever since our return, we’ve been trying to figure out how to go there again.

Jim and Kathy saved us a ton of money by booking us in ‘time-share’ condos where we could cook many of our own meals, do our own laundry, and buy beverages at the grocery store rather than a hotel lounge.

The helicopter and boat rides were purchased at half-price on the condition we listen to the sales pitch. It wasn’t easy saying “No” to owning a week at one of those condo units, but we managed to do so.

Needless to say, I doubt very much we could have made the arrangements ourselves. I use various travel web sites on a pretty regular basis, but when I’m planning a ‘once in a lifetime’ trip, I want the professionals handling it for me.

With the economy the way it is, fewer people are traveling. That makes this the perfect time to take that trip. Go for it!

Now, if I can find the pictures of Ireland, I’ll tell you a few things about that trip.

Leave a Reply

