My Pre-School Daze

Hickory Dickory Dock and Hey Diddle Diddle might add up to someone with a Baa Baa Black Sheep.

I have eleven – going on thirteen – grandchildren and it suddenly dawned on me that none of them recite nursery rhymes. Some of them can sing the theme song from Veggie Tales, and some can tell me all about Winnie the Pooh and the Cat in the Hat. I believe all of them are well versed on Sam I Am, but do any of them know anything about Mary, Mary, Quite Contrary?

When I was very young, my parents bought a linoleum ‘rug’ for our bedroom. It was a hodgepodge of nursery rhymes. We could crawl around the floor and read about Old King Cole, Singing a Song of Six Pence, Humpty Dumpty, Simple Simon, and many others. Because of that floor, we could read fairly well before we ever set foot in a school. Maybe that’s why my parents didn’t bother sending me to kindergarten.

In any case, I’m left wondering about today’s children. Are they even exposed to the old fashioned nursery rhymes or has reading simple little verses been replaced by Sesame Street and the various shows on Noggin?

Sesame street concentrates on letters and numbers, but how much are children taught words and sentences?

I could be all wet on this. Perhaps today’s children are taught about Little Bo Peep, Little Miss Muffet, and others. Perhaps my grandchildren feel I’m silly enough without them reminding me of silly little sonnets.

And one final perhaps… Perhaps some elementary school teachers who stumble upon this blog will take the time to enlighten me.

By the way, one of my all time favorites was Little Boy Blue, come blow your horn… although when I grew a bit older, my father taught me a much different poem about a child referred to as “Little Boy Blue.”

Does anyone remember that one?

Leave a Reply

