Giddy it is!

Creativity - Pittsburgh Style

Creativity - Pittsburgh Style

Believe it or not, a friend sent me the above photo last Wednesday. I wasn’t as confident as the person who created that computer enhanced image. In fact, my confidence didn’t surface until Roethlisberger took a knee to end the game.

I vaguely remember the first time the Steelers earned a berth in the Super Bowl. I know I had to have been far more excited. I think it’s human nature to get really excited the first time we experience anything good. After that, it’s still enjoyable, just not quite the same.

The only thing that makes this year’s success more meaningful is the fact that all the football experts agreed at the beginning of the season that Pittsburgh had the toughest schedule in the league. When you look at the teams in the playoffs, there were only a few that Pittsburgh did not face during the regular season.

The Arizona Cardinals are one of those teams. However, during the next two weeks the sports channels will be filled with stories outlining the connections between the two teams.

I’ve been pulling for the Cardinals ever since they drafted Larry Fitzgerald out of the University of Pittsburgh. I’ve also wanted to see Ken Whisenhunt and Russ Grimm do well.  Whisenhunt played his college ball at Georgia Tech and Grimm was another Pitt player.

While I have lots of reasons to want to see the Cardinals do well, they are out-weighed by my loyalty to the city of my birth… the City of Bridges… Old Smokey… Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

On February 1st, I’ll be pulling for Mike Tomlin, Hines Ward, Santonio Holmes, Willie Parker, Troy Polamalu, and the rest of the crew.

You can take the boy out of Western Pennsylvania, but you can’t take Western Pennsylvania out of the boy… even if he is a senior citizen.

Leave a Reply

