Mamma Mia Too!

A few months ago my bride and I went to see the movie version of “Mamma Mia”. I understand it came to life as a Broadway play and was then made into a movie. I had been led to believe it was a ‘chick flic’ and a real man wouldn’t go see it without kicking and screaming.

So after I finished eating my quiche, I had a chat with Wayne Giglia at a Nostalgia rehearsal. He said he and his wife had seen it the night before and he loved it. So, rather than kick and scream, I invited my bride to dinner and a movie.

As we were leaving the theater I said, “I haven’t laughed that hard since “Smoke on the Mountain”! (For the uninitiated, “Smoke on the Mountain” is a stage presentation dealing with the Saunders family and Gospel singing in a Southern Baptist Church.) In my book, it is a must see.

So, why am I telling you all this? Simple; the entire basis of the screen play “Mamma Mia” is the music of ABBA – a Swedish group that was hot a few decades ago.

That tells me that I could have the same success simply by taking an album from one of my favorite groups and writing a screen play based on the songs.

I’ve gone through my collection of CDs and picked two sure-fire winners. Boney M and The Snake Brothers!

With Boney M, I’d call my play “Daddy Cool” and have the opening scene take place on a river as we played “Rivers of Babylon”. “My Friend Jack” would be in the background as we introduce the leading man – Jack Nicholson! Yes! That’s the ticket!

Now, as for the leading lady, the background music would be “Bahama Mama”. Now, who could I get to play that part? Do you think we could get Rosie O’Donnel to say, “Hey Mon!” when she first spies Jack?

So, maybe that won’t work.

Let’s look at the Snake Brothers. The main theme song would have to be the “South Jersey Waltz”. One of the songs on one of the  CDs I have is “Tyin’ Knots in the Devil’s Tail”. This would allow us to introduce the Leeds Devil as a central character. After that, I’m not sure.

I’d definitely want to bring in “A Child’s Lament for the 90’s”, but I’m not sure how I could work that in. Could the Leeds Devil be singing, “Mamma, please don’t make me get a tattoo!”?

Perhaps I need to look deeper in my CD collection…

One Response to Mamma Mia Too!

  1. Max says:

    After the huge success of Mamma Mia a musical was made of the music from Boney M. Wel, the musical flopped so you have to loook deeper into your CD collection.
    And I liked the show Mamma Mia and I wasn’t the only man who liked it..

Leave a Reply

