Who Leans on You?

Last night Nostalgia performed at an assisted living facility. Tonight, we’ll be doing the same. In the meantime, I’ll spend a good portion of today installing a suspended ceiling at a facility that helps unwed mothers get on their feet.

Sometimes it seems like I have no time left for myself. But I volunteer to do things anyway.

Why?

The number one reason is that it makes me feel good. It’s as simple as that. I feel happy that I can – in some small way – improve the lives of others.

I’m not trying to rack up points to help get me into Heaven. I’m not doing it to make others admire or respect me. I do it because somebody needs to do it and I feel great before, during, and after I’ve done it.

If you’ve never volunteered to help others, try it some time. There are countless opportunities.

For instance, Nostalgia performs old songs for old folks. Some of the music we do was old when our senior citizens were young – it reminds them of their own youth and their parents and grandparents. Some of the music was popular when they were teens and young adults. Some of the songs remind them of the days when they danced the evening away in the arms of that special someone.

We are not professional musicians. We’re a bunch of amateurs who sound half-ways decent. That’s good enough for the people we entertain. We’d love it if other groups put together small combos and entertained at the same places we do – we’re able to perform at each place about once every two months. Thus, other groups would be greatly appreciated.

If you’re not musically inclined, collect a bunch of small gift items and go play Bingo with the oldsters. Just be sure you know the rules and explain them clearly before you start. Some folks take their games very seriously!

Other volunteer opportunities are available at food pantries, clothes closets, and other similar community outreach centers. You can also give your time to children – Big Brother & Sister programs, Special Olympics, Youth Sports, and so on.

The opportunities are as endless as the need.

Some people feel better when they feel needed. Go ahead and find someone to lean on you. You’ll be glad you did.

Leave a Reply

