Children’s Misperceptions

In 1977, when my oldest son was ten years old, a rain storm came upon the city of Johnstown, Pennsylvania and stuck around until it had dumped more than a foot of rain in the area.

Shortly thereafter, our family started packing boxes with clothing and other necessities to donate to the victims of the flood. It was then that my son looked up at me and asked, “Do you remember the ‘big’ Johnstown Flood?”

I assumed he was referring to the flood of 1889, and not the lesser known flood of 1936. Obviously, his teacher had taken the opportunity to give my son’s class a lesson in history. My ten-year-old son simply assumed I’d been around forever and should have vivid memories of 1889.

When I was his age, I was looking at the “Pictorial History of the Civil War” featuring the photographs of Matthew Brady. I’d bet I didn’t hesitate to ask my father if he had fought in the Civil War. Children are like that. They simply assume everyone has been around for ever and will continue to be around for ever.

Between my children and grandchildren, I’ve many times been given reason to chuckle at the misconceptions. Conveniently, I’ve forgotten most of my own.

What about you? Did you have any misconceptions you’d be willing to share? How about your children and grandchildren?

Please feel free to leave a comment and tell us about your own experiences. That will give my visitors an opportunity to read someone else’s thoughts for a while.

One Response to Children’s Misperceptions

  1. Jan Faires says:

    When my children were in their first years of elementary school, they had trouble imagining that the teachers lived anywhere other than at school. When we drove thru town and I pointed out, “That is Ms. Montgomery’s house,” they argued that it couldn’t be, because she lived at school. Same thing with the lady who waited on us when we stopped by the coffee shop to get hot chocolate, same thing with the pastor and the Sunday School teacher. We had some good laughs over that misconception in later years.

Leave a Reply

