From the Mail Bag

I receive quite a bit of email on a daily basis. Sometimes the contents of the mail bag is much more interesting than other days. Monday, August 18, 2008 was just such a day.

Jim Mazurek and Bob Jessep sent me some videos that I think most of my friends and relatives would enjoy seeing. If you’re not one of my friends or relatives, I’ll bet you’ll be fascinated anyway.

Let’s begin with what is labeled “Russian Bar Acrobatic”. I’m not convinced they’re Russian, but what they do is definitely acrobatic.

What I find interesting about this acrobatic act is that the folks who have the easier parts are the ones who take the bows. But how much could they do without those guys holding the bars? It reminds me of the offensive line in football. The guy who runs the ball for more than a hundred yards per game gets the credit, but he wouldn’t have gained an inch if it wasn’t for those bull-necked monsters blocking for him.

That reminds me of the time I was playing offensive guard in an inter-fraternity football game at Edinboro State college. We were lining up for a punt when three defenders lined up in front of me. Somehow I managed to block all three of them to protect our punter. Unfortunately, the guys on the other side of the line didn’t do so well. The punt was blocked and our punter wound up with a broken ankle. Obviously, any glory I might have received for my gallant efforts was lost.

It takes a lot of strength to be an offensive lineman, but you don’t have to be Polish. However, the guys in this next video are Polish… but not offensive linemen. After watching the video, I don’t think you’ll question their strength.

The final video I received is quite different. It gives a whole new meaning to “shadow puppets”.

[[

In case you missed it, the name of the group is Pilobolus.

I’m fascinated with the things people can do when they set their minds to it. I’m also fascinated when I go looking for an old song I always liked, but had no idea which group recorded it. I wanted to add a song for Tuesday, and now realize it was one of the few songs by the Rolling Stones that I really enjoyed.

Hopefully I haven’t insulted any die-hard Stones fans.

Before I close for today, let me again remind you to take a look at the mystery photo on the ??? page. I know someone out there knows exactly where that picture was taken. Keep asking your friends and relatives to take a look. Somebody must know the answer!

Leave a Reply

