Mixed Bag Monday

Fox in the morning!

Fox in the morning!

This is not the way I planned to begin today’s post. However, when I looked out the window, my plans changed. There were two young foxes rolling around in our yard. I managed to get several pictures before something spooked them.

In truth, I was going to begin this Monday morning with another song. While the words do not express the views of the author – nor this blog site – I always loved listening to Karen Carpenter.

Here in Georgia – in the midst of a drought – rainy days would not get me down. In fact, we’re hoping Hurricane Fae comes and dumps about six or seven inches on us. As for Mondays, when I was working full time and had to sit in traffic trying to get to my office, the mornings did get me down, but things usually improved as the day wore on.

Last night my bride and I sat on the other side of the table and it was marvelous!

Allow me to explain. Lu and I are very active with our church’s Out-reach committee and get heavily involved in various fund raising events. The last two years we’ve been serving gourmet dinners to raise money for various charities. Several times we’ve prepared Beef Wellington with all the trimmings and attempted to provide a memorable dining experience to the people making substantial donations to our causes.

Last evening, we were among the guests. Bob and Gail Trimble took over as chief cooks and bottle washers. They were ably assisted by Bob and Marilyn Young, and Doug and Alaine Linebarger. And we sat at the table and allowed them to serve up a sumptuous meal. Naturally, we ate far too much, but loved every bite of it.

Perhaps that’s why I feel rather bloated on this Monday morning.

If this is your first visit here, welcome! I’m glad you took the time to stop by. There’s a little something for everyone here, including a joke contest and a mystery picture. The picture can be found on the ??? page.

In the meantime, I’m going to go look out the windows some more. We never know what we might see passing through. The picture below was taken of a deer that Lu eventually had to chase out of the yard. The deer was fearless of humans – a bad sign – and eating Lu’s prized plants.

A descendent of Bambi?

A descendant of Bambi?

Leave a Reply

