Random Thoughts

Last evening I ran across a quote. While the words are a bit shocking, I thought the timing was rather interesting,

“What signify a few lives lost in a century or two? The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants. It is its natural manure.”

Now who would say something like that? If you think you know, leave a comment and tell me who you think it might be.

As many of you know, my bride, Lu, has become a Mary Kay Beauty Consultant. As the husband of said consultant, I’m permitted to drive to the local distribution center and pick up orders for her. However, in order to deliver orders to customers, the Mary Kay Corporation insists that I wear a dress. I’ve been considering a Scottish kilt and knee socks, but have been advised that I might look better in a pink poodle skirt. For the time being, I’ll just keep considering.

Speaking of independent sales reps, we recently bought some Watkins products from a good friend, Carol Terry. If you live in the Cumming area and have been looking for a Watkins person, look no farther. You can order at her web site: http://www.watkinsonline.com/carolterry/.

Yesterday was a busy day and I’ve come to realize that I’m beginning to act like my older brother. I made airline reservations and will be traveling to Pittsburgh soon. I plan to stay at my brother’s house during my visit. I have not yet talked with him about my plans. The last time he visited me, he called about two weeks prior to his visit to ask if I’d pick him up at the airport. Maybe I’ll wait even longer. BOY! Will I be surprised if he’s off in Michigan visiting his daughter!

While in Pittsburgh, I plan to attend an IBM alumni dinner. They’ve been holding this annual affair for four or five years and I’ve never been able to make it. This year I will and I’m really looking forward to seeing my old work mates. I also plan on visiting with some of my old school mates. Who knows? I might bump into some of the Hollywood All-Stars!

Another thing I did yesterday was visit http://thrillingdaysofyesteryear.blogspot.com/ and left a comment. It was a comment concerning my thoughts on politicians. In brief, I no longer believe politicians represent the voters. Their only concern toward their constituency is what they must do to get re-elected. They’ll say whatever they think they need to say, and then go off to the seat of government to represent their party and the special interest groups who provide the cash for their next re-election bid. I’m in favor of term limits and think we should replace every incumbent – regardless of party affiliation.

With that said, I would prefer not to have politics become part of this blog. I have very strong feelings and so do you. I’d rather not get into a disagreement with people I hope will become regular visitors.

Finally, I’ve asked for people to submit jokes that I can tell at senior citizen venues. I’ve received my first input. It’s from Joe Lane, an old friend in Pittsburgh, and he opted to send it directly to my e-mail account rather than add it as a comment here on the blog. I think it’s perfect for my needs and plan on using it this coming Friday. Without further ado…

An elderly man in Louisiana had owned a large farm for several years.
He had a large pond in the back. It was properly shaped for swimming, so he fixed it up nice with picnic tables, horseshoe courts, and some apple, and peach trees.

One evening the old farmer decided to go down to the pond, as he hadn’t been there for a while, and look it over. He grabbed a five-gallon bucket to bring back some fruit.

As he neared the pond, he heard voices shouting and laughing with glee. As he came closer, he saw it was a bunch of young women skinny-dipping in his pond.

He made the women aware of his presence and they all went to the deep end. One of the women shouted to him, ‘we’re not coming out until you leave!’

The old man frowned, ‘I didn’t come down here to watch you ladies swim naked or make you get out of the pond naked.’

Holding the bucket up he said, ‘I’m here to feed the alligator.’

Old age and treachery will beat youth and enthusiam every day of the week.

I’m still waiting for your joke!

2 Responses to Random Thoughts

  1. ReverendYo says:

    The quote comes from the primary author of the Declaration of Independance, the second VP and the third president.

    This was also said about this man, when President John F. Kennedy welcomed forty-nine Nobel Prize winners to the White House in 1962 he said, “I think this is the most extraordinary collection of talent and of human knowledge that has ever been gathered together at the White House — with the possible exception of when this man dined alone.

    One of the most fascinating Americans who ever lived.

  2. jimsjourney says:

    The Reverend Mr. Yo is correct.

Leave a Reply

