Care to Take a Hike?

The ‘trail’ shown in today’s video is in Spain. If nothing else, it makes me think twice before complaining about the maintenance of the National Parks in the U.S.A.

When I first viewed the video, I thought it was created by an inventive computer geek. As I did with the video about Christian, the Lion, I went searching for the truth. I was shocked to learn that this is an actual trail. I won’t call it a hiking trail because the Spanish government would prefer that people not use it. In fact, they’ve erected barricades to discourage hikers. Obviously, the barriers don’t work. I’ve found more than one video made by people following the trail.

According to the facts, the trail was originally created to allow workers to get to the job site. They were building a dam (which you’ll see in the video) and had no other way for the workers to get there with the supplies they needed. I don’t think I would’ve lasted very long on that job!

You must admit that the scenery is, in fact, “breath taking”! My thoughts, when I was watching it for the first time, boiled down to one point: “I’m glad it’s a video. I’d be scared out of my wits if I was on the trail for real.”

With no further ado, here’s the video. I suggest you find something or someone to hang on to!

Did you notice that the ‘path’ was basically built by driving pipes into the side of the rock and putting concrete walkways on top of the steel frames? Much of the concrete has eroded, leaving large holes. I’m not sure I would’ve trusted the concrete. I know I wouldn’t have performed the balancing act of our ‘tour guide’.

Between you and me, I’ll stick to the Appalachian Trail.

See y’all tomorrow!

2 Responses to Care to Take a Hike?

  1. Kenn says:

    Wow, it’s like the roads in Pittsburgh…

  2. jimsjourney says:

    The number of pot-holes may be similar, but I doubt one can look into a Pittsburgh pot-hole and see something a thousand feet below.

Leave a Reply

