Once a Steelers’ Fan, Always…

3 Generations of Fans

3 Generations of Fans

Football season is fast approaching and, like most former Pittsburghers, my mind turns toward Latrobe and the Steelers’ training camp. Years ago my job at IBM took me to Latrobe Die Casting and a couple of other local companies, but my trips for the job never coincided with training camp. I could see the hallowed grounds of the practice fields, but I could only imagine what it would be like with Terry, Franco, Lynn, Mel, Jack, Mean Joe, and others getting ready to defend another Super Bowl Championship

I’ve been living in Georgia since 1977 and have enjoyed following the Atlanta Braves. I hate to admit it, but a big part of my love of the Pirates died with Roberto Clemente. Dave Parker and Chuck Tanner killed any remaining feelings I had for the team. But the Steelers and Penguins still top my list of favorite teams.

I try to get back to the city about once a year. I’ve traveled all over this country and nowhere have I found a fish sandwich that even comes close to those found in almost every tavern in Pittsburgh. I also enjoy driving up to the bluff in Eliot to take a good look at the city – to see how many things have changed since I worked downtown. I’m not sure if there’s another city in the country with such a view.

My entry will be short today. Instead of lots of words, I’m going to share a couple of things sent my way by another former Pittsburgher. Jim Mazurek has been living in Las Vegas for many years, but he still shares the love for our home town.

The first thing I want to share with you has nothing to do with the Steelers or Pittsburgh, but everything to do with love.

Finally, for Pittsburghers who grew up more than half a century ago, you might enjoy a web site that is still under development, but shows lots of promise… especially if you remember a DJ named Porky.

http://www.daddyrockinstrong.com/main.html?src=%2F

I apologize that the above cannot simply be clicked. You’ll have to cut and paste until I figure out what I’m doing wrong.

Leave a Reply

