Sunday – A Day of Rest

Yesterday was a busy, hectic day. My bride and I helped cook and serve a gourmet dinner. We served five couples who paid an average of $100 each to dine on Beef Wellington and several supporting courses. The money all went to the American Cancer Society’s Relay for Life.

I crawled out of bed about a half hour ago, but would have no trouble crawling back in. However, I can’t do that. I want to get up and get to church. If you’ve read my sermons, you’ll realize I’m not going out of a sense of obligation. I’ve done that in the past, and won’t do it again.

During my tenure as a Catholic, I made a Novena plus one. I went to an extra First Friday Mass just in case I miscounted.

I go to church to rub elbows with the church. I’ll get my share of warm handshakes, smiles, and hugs. While I’m socializing with some of my best friends, I might even go to the service, listen to the music and sermon, and maybe emerge as a better person!

If I get time later, I’ll add something else. I don’t want my blogging to turn into an obligation.

Did you ever notice how something you really enjoy doing can became a real drag when it becomes an obligation?

At this point, there’s quite a bit of reading material contained within these pages. Poke around and see if their anything you’ve missed. If you’re so inclined, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

Leave a Reply

