July 9, 2008

There was a young fellow of Leeds

Who swallowed six packets of seeds

In a month, silly ass, he was covered with grass

And he couldn’t sit down for the weeds.

I have tried to discover the author of that Limerick without success. For all I know, it was written hundreds of years ago. Whoever compiled the English Literature book we used in high school was kind enough to include it – that was around 1960 – and every one of my friends, upon discovering it, took great enjoyment in pointing it out to me.

The other day I was thinking of another Limerick to include as a post, but senility has prevented me from remembering which one it was.

So, with all of that out of the way, welcome to Wednesday, July 9th. Hope you enjoy today’s visit and I hope you come back tomorrow. By the way, I’ve added another story about my childhood.

Leave a Reply

