Thoughts on July 4, 2008

For some strange reason, Cumming, Georgia held their fireworks display last night – on Independence Day Eve. I’m not sure what possessed them, but their entire schedule of events seems rather absurd. On July 3rd, they had a band playing and some sort of dance contest in addition to the fireworks. Today, July 4th, they’re holding a parade of old steam engine machinery from 10:00 AM until noon and by 1:00 PM the celebrations are scheduled to end.

We have the entire weekend in front of us, and the Fourth of July festivities will be over early this afternoon.

Maybe our fearful leaders know something we don’t. Perhaps they figure the citizens of our county will head south this afternoon to see the ‘good’ fireworks displays closer to Atlanta. Since everyone is heading south, why bother continuing celebrations here?

I’ll give them the benefit of the doubt. When they made their plans gasoline wasn’t $4.00 a gallon.

***********************************

As you can see, I have not taken the holiday off. I’m determined to add something new everyday… even if it’s something I wrote a while back.

Look at the Hunting & Fishing page. I’ve added an article entitled, “Can Foxfire Save Me?”.

I hope you enjoy reading my stories and will come back often. If you have any thoughts on anything – perhaps a subject you’d like me to address – please let me know by leaving a comment.

Thank you kindly for your support. (Straight from Bartles & James!)

Leave a Reply

